Skip to main content

National Junior Honor Society

 

Schmucker Middle School's National Junior Honor Society is committed to the five qualities that serve as our standards.  These standards are Scholarship, Leadership, Service, Citizenship, and Character.  The NJHS members of SMS meet on a bi-monthly basis to carry out their service obligations.  A student can join NJHS as early as his/her 7th grade year.  To receive an invitation to apply, students must maintain a 3.5 GPA or higher for 5 consecutive grading periods.  During the second semester of each year, all 7th and 8th graders that meet this criteria will receive an invitation and application.  Following the application deadline, an advisory panel of teachers will meet and carefully consider each application. Selection process is based on multiple things, including but not limited to the application and teacher recommendations. In January students who are selected will be notified and participate in an Induction Ceremony. 

 

If you have any questions please contact Nancy Ladson.

 

 

** Executive meetings will be held the third Tuesday of every month, and the Group meetings will be held the third Thursday of every month. **
Executive Committee Meetings Group Meetings
   
Thursday, Jan 12- 8:00am- Rm 2307 (Ladson) Friday, January 13 – 8:00am- LGI
Tuesday, January 24 -8:00am- Induction Ceremony Rehearsal - Seminar Rm (Ladson)

Wednesday, January 25 - 6:00pm Induction Ceremony –

Seminar Rm (Ladson)

Thursday, Februrary 2 - 8:00am- Rm 307 (Ladson) Friday, February 3  8:00am- LGI
Thursday, March 2 - 8:00am- Rm 307 (Ladson) Friday, March 3 – 8:00am – LGI
Tuesday, April 11 – 8:00am – Rm 307 (Ladson)

Thursday, April 13 – 8:00am – LGI

Thursday, May 4 – 8:00am – Rm 307 (Ladson) Friday, May 5 – 8:00am – LGI